Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie intro and 3 questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 04:08 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Newbie intro and 3 questions

Hi guys,

I'm new to crawling but not new to rc. Been in the hobby 8 years now and currently have a heli, glider, Savage, Rustler, Mini-T, Mini LST and a Venom Creeper on the way.

I have a spare Traxxas TQ 3 channel tx and rx that I'm going to use for now. I am however looking for a esc and motor for the creeper and have done quite a bit of reading and research here and elsewhere on the net. I hope you guys can clarify a few things for me please:

1. The general consensus seems that a brushed system is much better than BL because of the "feel". What exactly is meant by that?
2. For the price of a decent brushed esc, a 35A EZRun esc and 32t bl combo can be had. For a newbie like me, why is this setup not preferable over a more expensive brushed system? What I like about this bl system is the programmability, and I've good experience with the EZRuns elsewhere, and the fact that bl is basically maintenance free.
3. Lastly, any recommendations for a esc/motor will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Maxx_Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-31-2014, 07:46 PM   #2

Default Re: Newbie intro and 3 questions

Wow, nearly two months old and not a single reply. I'm new to crawling (well haven't even started yet) but not new to RC myself. I believe BL motors are inherently less efficient at very low RPMs than brushed and they naturally want to pulse or cog, most apparent near stall speed. So I'm thinking that crawlers primarily operate at the speeds where all of the BL motor's weaknesses come out and must be overcome.

Maybe one of the experts will chime in and let us know if I'm on the right track or completely off base.
randytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:59 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder