Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: MOA versus driveshaft/transmission

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2010, 11:05 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default MOA versus driveshaft/transmission

anyone got any insight on which is better. Motors on axles or using two "standard" axles and transmision? Seems MOA would have more clearance but since I am new to this I figured I would ask. tried searching threads but had no luck with the way I was wording my search. Thanks in advance. Also anyone form the kansas city area that knows of places to go watch/compete?
ctracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-2010, 11:42 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctracy View Post
anyone got any insight on which is better. Motors on axles or using two "standard" axles and transmision? Seems MOA would have more clearance but since I am new to this I figured I would ask. tried searching threads but had no luck with the way I was wording my search. Thanks in advance. Also anyone form the kansas city area that knows of places to go watch/compete?
This is a question you will have to answer for yourself. The shafty guys will say shafty and MOA will say MOA. I have both and really like both. Get out to a local comp and see which one looks more appealing to you.
Fattymojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:50 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

The MOA are by far the most popular rigs that win comps. Just google some crawler comps and see what kind of rigs people are running. MOA all the way. Not to say that a shafty won't work, but I started with Losi comp crawlers and moved on to a Berg which blows the Losi out of the water.

Disclaimer: I would get my arse handed to me running my berg against a pro with a shafty!! The driver is really what makes a crawler, but the MOA can do so much more IMHO.
skkeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 12:24 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave