Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Ton of questions for rc rock crawler newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 05:47 PM   #1

Default Ton of questions for rc rock crawler newbie

Ok, I apologize in advance, but I gotta start somewhere. I'm new to RC crawling and some what new to RC. So new that I don't have a truck yet. I've owned a few electric and nitro trucks years ago, but they have been long gone for years now and crawling wasn't around. I'm interested in getting involved with some of the weekend competitions in and around the Austin area. So here are some of my questions. What do you recommend for starters? Can I just buy an out of the box ready to crawl truck? Will it be competitive right out of the box? I'm interested in the larger trucks. Do they make a 1/5 scale crawler and can you compete with such? I've read some of the rules; however, I'm not certain on some of the terms such as 1.9, 2.2, etc.....There is a local hobby shop in town that carries a Losi Night Crawler. Is this something that will be competitive out of the box? I would like to go a little larger. I don't want to spend money on a truck and find out I can't enter any competitions. I've done a ton of research and have found there are a ton of brands with some I've never heard of and with a huge gap in pricing. Any help would be appreciated.
06tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-2011, 05:59 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Welcome to the site. The RCC crew set up state sections for everyone, so going to ur state and checking out what comps they have are good idea. 19 and the 2.2 is the tire size. generally the 1.9 is scale based (RTR wise) and 2.2 is comp stuff. Are you wanting a shaft driven rig or MOA (motor on axle). Axial has a Xr10 that is very very nice and so does losi with the comp crawler. Out of the box losi is a good choice, the xr10 is a unbuilt unit that comes with no electronics or tires.