Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Battery question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 05:35 AM   #1

Smile Battery question

Hi I'm new to the electric Rc crawlers and I'm starting with an axial ax10 I have been upgrading this rig and am stuck on the next thing on my list. Battery and charger and connectors pls help what should I go with I would like the best bettery I can get for somewhat cheap I'm just learning on this rig so if u have any ideas let me know thanks : )
Crazyrctoon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-05-2011, 06:56 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

It's always good to hear about another new crawler fanatic! Depending on if you have a low CG battery/servo plate most people just mount it on that.

You would mount a small lipo 800-1600mah 3S on the left side of the servo where the velcro strap holds it in place.

Some people just cut out a small triangular piece of lexan and zip tie it to the upper links on the front of the rig. Or you can just use velcros straps and tie it to the upper links.

If running lipos you need an ESC compatible of lipo cut off...most people run Castle Sidewinder, Tekin FXR, Novak Goat, Castle Creations Mamba Max, and Holmes Hobbies BRXL. Make sure your ESC has a programmable drag brake and you'd probably want a strong servo at least 300oz of torque with a Castle Creations BEC.

All these ESC's can handle at least 3S. I favor the Sidewinder due to the cheap pricing, but I also have a Holmes BRXL on the way.

http://holmeshobbies.com/home.php?cat=2
John Holmes is the owner and a great seller to deal with!
alexchen86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 08:32 AM   #3
Rock Stacker