Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: new to RC rock crawling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2013, 11:07 PM   #1

Default new to RC rock crawling

Hi everyone, I'm very new to this rock crawling and have been interested for a while, after running around with a Traxxas Revo 3.3 Nitro truck for few years I finally decided to buy a Wraith. The Wraith I have bought is a highly modified unit from ground up, the rear of the chassis has been cut out an modified to fit in a custom rear suspension with metal link arms and all the front suspension has been replaced with metal as well. I have installed a Tekin 2300kV brushless motor with a Mamba Pro Max ESC, 56T Spur gear, 4000mAh 3s LiPo, Rover Tires and Rockstar headlock rims. After trying it out for the first time, I found that the torque from the motor was enough to twist the rear driveshaft as if it was made of warm butter...lol. I then bought new hardened steel driveshafts, the rear one had to be lengthened due to the rear suspension mods. I next installed metal transmission gears and a HiTEC HS-7955TG steering servo and aluminum horn. Well now I am crawling, I think the next step is to replace the differential gears, axles and hubs but I think I have spent enough $$$$ for now. I was also thinking about changing the steering linkages to aluminum but I am concerned about damaging the expensive servo installed. The guy who built the chassis suggested adding a second plastic steering linkage, this would add for rigidity to the steering and still have flex to protect the servo, anyone ever do this??? Also, is a dig kit worth installing??? Anyway, I am new to this and to the forum and I am looking forward to the adventures of RC rock crawling.
dhollis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-18-2013, 09:15 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: new to RC rock crawling