Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Hey guy's, Need help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 01:51 PM   #1

Default Hey guy's, Need help!

I'm new to the RC world and I picked up an Axial dingo kit with Futaba 4pl.

I have installed a winch and now I can't figure out how to make the truck role in "neutral". Is there a way to turn off the drag brake for winching? The truck won't role on it's own freely.

My second question is concerning Dig. Is there an option to use dig with the 4pl?

Sorry even after searching for answers I'm coming up with nothing.

Thanks guys!
Fonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-20-2013, 08:47 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Hey guy's, Need help!

to get rid of the drag brake youll have to either get a castle link (i recommend) or take it to a lhs that has a castle link and lower the drag brake. but what i would do is jus give the rig a lil throttle while your winching. my opinion i like having a drag brake cuz if i get crawling and lose a line i wanna be able to stop the rig on the rocks to find a new line instead of having to give it a lil throttle to stay. if you give it a lil throttle while winching will help you learn throttle control too.
jboehler04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:04 AM   #3
Scale Detail Engineering

Using Castle Link, I set my drag brake to 40%.
It holds on most inclines, will creep down steep hills and allow the winch to pullthe truck... but I have a sevo winch.
Most cases I give it a little throttle...

You can run a dig and a winch with the 4pl. just set the dig to the 2 position channel (4 iirc).

Here's a video of me using my drag brake, winch and throttle together for the winch obstacle at NWITTC.
I should ha've used it when I got up there the first time but thought I might be able to make it without the winch...
http://youtu.be/6d5yZ1vYIZQ

Last edited by johnnyh66; 10-20-2013 at 09:31 AM.