Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Building a Dingo kit, got what I need, but what do I *want*?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 09:46 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Building a Dingo kit, got what I need, but what do I *want*?

So I'll be building my first RC kit ever. I'm new to the RC hobby stuff and right now as far as spare parts, tools, fluids, etc I really don't have anything so you can assume I have nothing. I've looked over the build instructions. Watched the URC build videos. I'm confident I have everything I need to build the dingo as far as tools, I have a big 12 drawer rolling tool chest filled with just about everything.

-full set of hex drivers (not horrible keys but actual handled drivers and 1/4 chuck long stem bits too).
-Needle Noses galore. small medium and large if need be.
-Razors of all different shapes and sizes.
-Side cutter. Dykes. Microsheer flush cutters. You name it I got it.
-soldering iron. Soldering gun. I don't plan on soldering anything but a project isn't a project unless I burn myself.

Now you guys are the experienced experts and from the looks of it many of you have done this a thousand time, often a thousand times on the same chassis. What else do you guys have on your workbench that makes life easier building your RC's? Like when I replaced the shocks on my wife car, reading the instructions is all well and good but I wouldn't have been able to get the old shock out without a 2x4 and a BFH to beat on it to get it out. Or maybe the RC equivalent of the magnetic screw holder so I can lose all of the screws in my garage at once instead of only one screw.

The Kit comes with oils and grease and some blue thread lock. Do any of these suck and is best put in the circular file? Are there better options that's best to use now before I assemble the Dingo kit?