Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New Rubicon Saturday. Ruined it Sunday

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2014, 09:32 PM   #1

Exclamation New Rubicon Saturday. Ruined it Sunday

Greets. First post ever today. Glad I have you to count on for feedback--and plan on giving back as my account here matures.

Here's my deal: Found out how to do massive wheelies with my new Rubicon (SCX-10). Mostly because I tried to fiddle with the ESC knowing nothing about how to set it--I managed to make it go super fast backwards, eliminated my drag brake and was left with lackluster forward speed--but I digress.

I'm a dork, I know I thrashed something--it's going to cost me. But since I'm new to this powertrain system, I could really uses some advice from crawler "old-timers". Poppin' wheelies has resulted in regular forward action, but when gently nudge up against an obstacle and attempt to traverse it--the model shrieks from the transfer case area and largely does not move forward. And of course, as you might expect, it sounds like a 4-wheel coffee grinder everywhere it goes--louder in corners.

Based on what I've described, what do you suppose I've done? I think I'll need to eliminate all the nylon / plastic'ish parts in my drive train so here are my questions:

1) It's an RTR, I'm a little skeered to take it apart I haven't set up a workbench (no room) yet, and as a noob, the fewer things I take a part the more likely they're to get back together. I'm looking for a consensus as to WHERE the problem MOST LIKELY is. Could it be in the pumpkins or just in the transfer case? _Just_ a pinion/spur gear, or deep in the transmission?

2) While I'm at it, what power-train upgrade would you recommend to eliminate this problem from happening again? I'll quit drivin' like a dork--cuz fixin' it is expensive, but I'd rather drive the way I wanna drive. Ideas here?