Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Noob here - Got a kit on the way.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2014, 10:09 AM   #1

Default Noob here - Got a kit on the way.

Well, I've got the bug. Two close friends of mine (one by default and the other because his wife is best friends with my girlfriend ) have had crawlers they've been playing with for a while now and they've been trying to convince me. Well, Saturday while messing around with one of their rigs I caught the bug and promptly went inside, did some speedy research, and ordered the SCX10 rubicon kit. They both have SCX10's with one also having the same rubicon kit. I have a couple of other purchases I'll obviously have to make and was looking at some ESCs and Motors to start out with. The one buddy also has a wraith that he offered to let me use as I'm going to have to build the kit and buy the other parts I need over the next couple of weeks.

So, noob questions - Any suggestions on the other things I need like the electronics and radio? I was looking at a Holmes motor and ESC combo, but may have to go with something cheaper to start out with. I also want to add a winch as we were talking about setting up competition courses and there's already a group not too far from us that does scale competitions.

I think what happened was that I was really missing my Wrangler unlimited that I had to let go of after being laid off last year and wanted something to fill that void. I did start back to school and hopefully by the time I graduate and have a secure job, me and the girlfriend will be able to afford the diesel Wrangler they're supposed to be coming out with for 2016.
VI™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-07-2014, 10:18 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Noob here - Got a kit on the way.