Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to the Crawler Scene

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2014, 04:52 PM   #1

Default New to the Crawler Scene

Hello everyone! I am a newb to crawlers but have been involved in RC for about 15 years off and on. Unfortunately, it’s been mostly off for the last 4 years. Anyway, I have a 3.5yr old nephew that loves any kind of truck. My brother-in-law has an IH Scout that they use for trail runs. The last time I was home, I took him to an indoor race track and he had a blast. The hobby shop had some crawlers hanging on the wall and he wanted to play with them. Long story short, I am thinking about building a crawler for us to enjoy when I get to spend time with him. I will most likely get an Axial SCX-10 kit that I can build myself. I have a few questions that I hope you guys can answer.

Kits:
I can’t see any big differences in the kits on Axial’s website? Any pros/cons to the different kits? Any recommendations for one over the others?

Brushed vs. Brushless:
I know most prefer brushed motors. I don’t have any experience with brushed motors. Most of my RCs have been nitro. Those that are electric are brushless. What are the pros/con for one over the other?

I already have a Tekin Hotwire and a Castle link so most likely, I will stay with one of those companies for ESC/motor.

One last request….please don’t flame me with responses about using the search and what not. I work for a construction company (currently in northern BC). I am an office jockey but have limited use of the internet (lunch breaks). The wifi in the accomodations is pretty much worthless. Most nights I can’t even get Facebook to load on my iPad. I am actually writing this post in MS Word so I can just copy/paste into the forum.

I am due for my next rotational leave (8on/2off) in 4 weeks. I am hoping to get everything ordered before I go home so my nephew and I can build it while I am home.