Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Crawler First Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2014, 02:44 PM   #1

Question Crawler First Build

Hi,

As you can see I'm new to the crawlers. I'm tired of 1/8 offroad racing and want to build mi first "Crawler Machine".

I want to build something like pics at the end of the post.

I need your help to know if I can start with the "SCX10™ 2012 Jeep® Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 1/10th Scale Electric 4WD - Kit" and add Beadlock wheels/tires.
I just want to have a good crawler and nice looking ride. Any "must have" or recommended upgrades are welcome.

Thanks for any help in my build!

Rodrigo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-21-2014, 07:55 PM   #2

Default Re: Crawler First Build

If you start with the Wrangler Unlimited, there aren't any upgrades that are a "must have" as the truck is a very solid performer out of the box. However if you want to have similarly sized tires you will most likely need to purchase longer shocks or a lift kit
Bogo_30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 09:05 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Two of the stock tranny gears (idler gear and lower diff gear), the stock plastic servo horns, and the drive shafts are notorious weak points and would be good candidates for upgrades in the initial build. After that, there's a nearly endless list of things you can do (knuckles, c-hubs, lockouts, upper links, ring/pinion gears, diff lockers, CVD/XVDs, sealed bearings, the list goes on), but a lot of it depends on budget and how you plan to run it. If you're going to go brushless or 3s or play hard on the rocks, it makes sense to do more of the upgrades in the initial build because you'll break some of those stock parts pretty quickly. If you're going to stay brushed on 2s and aren't planning to abuse the rig, you can leave more stock stuff in the initial build and then replace/upgrade as things break.