Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newb question?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2015, 11:24 AM   #1

Default Newb question?

Well everyone is a newb one time or another. I'm not new to rc but I am brand new to crawling. I went to a state park with a fellow racer who happened to have a spare rig. What a blast. I'm hooked. Looking to get something but don't have a mint to spend. I've pretty much decided on a tube chassis. I saw one from EmeryworX that I liked. Wondering if I'd benifit from using scx10 axle type or would wraith wheel base be better ?
Ironhead1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-10-2015, 11:50 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Newb question?

Have you looked at the Axial Wraith, has a tube chassis, and way more after market parts? A word of warning, no matter what your rig costs, you will end up spending way more on after market upgrades!!! You said you are a long time RCer, so I'm probably not telling you anything new.
BY the way welcome to the site.
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 11:50 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

I don't know what the terrain is like around you but I use that as a gauge to determine what type of rig to get. Something based on the Wraith with 2.2 wheels will be big and requires very challenging terrain to keep it interesting. Around me in NC, a Wraith just runs over 80% of what I would encounter with little effort. You can't go wrong with a SCX10 based rig with 1.9 wheels for a good all around vehicle.

If you do go SCX10 axles, skip the Axial housings and go straight for the SSD housings. They are stronger, look better, and are just generally more awesome.

SSD D60 Axle Case for SCX10 (1)
svt923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 04:19 PM   #4
Rock Crawler