Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New in Ohio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2016, 06:39 AM   #1

Default New in Ohio

Hello all, I am new to RCs, Crawlers, and this site. However, I am not new to fun, and I can certainly recognize it when I see it.

My newly acquired rig is an Axial SCX-10 Jeep. I purchased it merely to kill some time here and there in the yard, that's it.

I should mention that my yard includes a small creek with rocky banks and other off-road terrain ideal for an RC. It seemed like a waste not having something that could traverse all that my yard has to offer.

At any rate, after unboxing my SCX-10 and getting it dirty for the first time, I was most definitely hooked. Not hooked in the sense of performing unspeakable acts on strangers for my next hit, but more so just realizing that driving this Jeep is extremely fun... and I am about to throw a lot of my money at it.

Just two months into ownership and I have already added new wheels, tires, and Axial steering links. I have also modded the spare tire by removing it from the stock carrier (which I got rid of altogether) and affixing it to the back of the roll bars.

This is only the beginning for me; I can already tell. My to-do list for this rig is growing by the day... and all of the posts on this forum and the videos on YouTube are only adding to that.

Do not be surprised if I become "that guy" at RC events that clearly has too much expendable income and time (i.e. no kids). All fun aside, the peril of this hobby escalating to a scary level for me, and quickly, is very real... but as long as I am having fun and it isn't hurting anyone, I'll stay hooked.

Sorry for the essay. Glad to be here. I look forward to conversing with and learning from you all.
BuckeyeRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-11-2016, 07:31 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: New in Ohio