Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: HELP Moving away from RTR electronics

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2017, 08:16 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default HELP Moving away from RTR electronics

Hello, I've been modifying my scx10 JK for a few months, mainly cosmetic mods plus wheels, tyres shocks etc. I use my truck primarily for trail runs, fairly long drives of up to 8km at walking speed, I will have a go at any interesting lines as I drive but I'm not really that into full on crawling over heaps of rocks.

Speed isn't a huge issue and I'm happy enough with the top speed of the stock unit. Occasionally I feel like I could have a bit more wheel speed when trying to tackle a hill with a lot of loose dirt and small stones

I'm starting to wonder exactly what benefits I will see from changing the electronics (motor and esc) and also what order I can do them in. I guess I have a couple of questions.

QUESTION 1
Can I simply change out the motor for something else without doing any other modifications? I have the axial 27t. Given my use what would be a good starting point?

QUESTION 2
Is there any real need to swap out the esc? What doesn't it do that others do?

I appreciate there is a LOT of discussion on these topics but I haven't found a thread that I understand (I have virtually no understanding of motors esc's etc)

Thanks in advance.
Boostmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-04-2017, 09:16 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: HELP Moving away from RTR electronics

Depends on budget.