Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: HSP Pangolin upgrades - Body, tyres, suspension, speed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2017, 09:49 PM   #1

Default HSP Pangolin upgrades - Body, tyres, suspension, speed

Hi.
I am new to crawling and got a HSP Pangolin for my grandson last year.
I’ve noticed a few initial problems that I’d like to rectify as we are starting to get out and play with it together a lot more now.

1. Body fouling the arches (Jeep Wrangler body)
1. I’ve tried cutting the arches a bit but it seems they need cutting off a lot more than I want.
2. I tried smaller tyres but the ground clearance is too low and the bumpers catch. I actually went for 1.9” tyres but they are only 93mm diameter instead of 125mm. I’ll probably get some super swampers or mud slingers
3. I believe I need to limit the shock travel but can’t find any sites showing how to do it, can anyone give me some instructions?
4. It would actually be nice to get a better fitting body as the standard wrangler has 240mm arches centre to centre but the wheelbase is actually 330mm
2. Suspension leans to one side
1. I’ve seen people recommending putting the motor on the other side of the spur gear which seems simple so I’ll give that a go to limit torque twist.
2. Putting spacers on the spring on the soft side to firm / push it up. but that seems like half baked solution as the shocks would be unbalanced so...
3. I wondered about better shocks. Wouldn’t mind some anodised alloy threaded adjustable shocks. Would that solve the lean?
4. I’ve also seen people adjusting shock angles but that seems a bit extreme with cutting lower arms.
5. Some people seem to be really proud of their SCX10 conversions which have upright shocks, but even with a second hand chassis from eBay or gumtree it will be an expensive solution I think.
3. Speed