Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Noob cage welding.. How do *you* do it?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2018, 05:47 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Noob cage welding.. How do *you* do it?

Hi guys,

I did something dumb and cut my wraith cage. i have glued it back together, and it kind looks cool, but also looks a bit s##t. Instead of buying another cage and getting it shipped to Australia (shipping costs more than the cage!!) i have this great idea to try and make one.

Here's the thing. I have never welded before and have no idea where to start.

I'm actually a mechanical engineer (from Uni, however I don't work as one) so have a great theoretical understanding of engineering, and I've built many many things.. just never welded. (I have hundreds of hours soldering)

I see this as a perfect opportunity to learn, and also a really fun little project.

I couldnt find a thread on it here so I figured I would start one.

my question is, what type of welder should I get, what things should i look out for, and really what have you guys done when welding your own cages/frames/various RC things?

Thank you so much for your time!

Last edited by Stray; 02-15-2018 at 05:48 PM. Reason: added info
Stray is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-2018, 07:16 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Noob cage welding.. How do *you* do it?

Try brazing, a lot easier. You can pick up a MAPP gas torch, an igniter torch head, some silver solder, or silver rods, and "Safety Silv" flux, or a comparable brand usually for under $50, although I see you're from Down Under, so not sure what your costs would be.

I used brake line for my 1/6 Jeep cage, easier to braze than solid rod. Fishmouth your ends that are brazed perpendicular to the cage, I use a dremel grinding wheel.