Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Attn: NEWBIES POST HERE<<<<<<

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2018, 08:04 PM   #2561
RCC Addict

Default Re: Attn: NEWBIES POST HERE&amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;&amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;&amp;a mp;amp;amp;l t;&amp;amp;amp;amp;l t;&amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;&amp;amp;amp;amp;l t;

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCJP View Post
Hi all, I'm Luke from MD. I'm looking to get into RC crawling. I've been into full scale trail and rock crawling for years with my 92 YJ.

Unfortunately there aren't trails very close by and it takes a lot of time and money so I only get out about once a year. I recently came across a magazine article about the TRX-4 and it got me curious what else is out there. I've been bingeing YouTube and review sites for days. Being a total RC newb, I want something reasonably priced and easy to work on and get parts for. Seems like axial is the obvious go-to but I've been looking at Ascender lately too and I'm leaning towards the RTR K10. It did well in the Big Squid shootout , particularly in the rock crawling category. Every video I watch changes my mind though so we'll see. Seems like a good way to get outside and drive over stuff in between wheeling trips.
Welcome Luke! Love your Jeep BTW. There are lots of 1/10 crawler options out there ATM with more arriving each month: Hobao "DC-1" whenever they're released, Redcat Gen7 Pro, Vaterra "Ascender" v1.0, ECX Barrage, MST CFX, Carisma SCA-1E, Axial Scx10 ii, HPI "Venture", Traxxas TRX-4, Cross RC DemonSG4C, Gmade, and Rc4wd TF2, Gelande, or the new Terrain!

Choosing the right one depends on your priorities really: your local club's class (1.9, 2.2, C1, C2, C3) popularity (check here: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/maryland/), parts availability (local and online, in-country and out), scale-ness, design, durability, performance, looks, etc.