Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Deciding on Gift for 6 Year Old's Birthday

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2018, 09:11 AM   #1

Default Deciding on Gift for 6 Year Old's Birthday

Howdy!

I've been crawling with my son for about the past 2 years with his Everest 10. I purchased and SCX10.2 (SCX 10 ii - not sure the best label for this) about 6 months ago. We've been having fun crawling together, but he's been more concerned about speed lately. (We also have a Traxxas Stampede which he LOVES because it's really fast).

I was trying to decide what to get him for his birthday, either upgrades to the E10 (I already upgraded the ESC and Motor to a 35T) or a new rig. Here's what I'm trying to accomplish.

- Waterproof
- Faster
- Price is somewhat of an issue (ideally < $300)
- Time is somewhat of an issue (not looking for a month-long project)

The E10 will need significant time (I believe) to truly waterproof. Also, I'm not sure if a 27T will give him the speed he's looking for - not sure about what it would take to increase speed from a drivetrain standpoint (still a bit of a noob in this arena)

A "new" rig sounds appealing - something with 2 speeds possibly, and already mostly waterproof. Used is fine.

My other thought would be to shell out $250 for a Traxxas Slash (there's a stock class at the local RC track), so we can both have faster rigs. My preference is to keep ourselves in the crawling world, though...

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!
jdtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-11-2018, 09:21 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Deciding on Gift for 6 Year Old's Birthday

If you don't mind building one, or finding electronics that are waterproof, the Losi Rock Rey kit should be in your price range. It can be fast, it can crawl, and it doesn't need too many upgrades out of the box (AFAIK the kit comes with some extras the rtr doesn't have)