Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: What's likely to break?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2018, 01:10 PM   #1

Default What's likely to break?

I'm fairly new to crawling, in terms of hours driven (although I've owned my OG SCX10 since they came out), and I came from fast bashers before that.

With monster trucks and stadium trucks, you break stuff more or less constantly. Those things take a lot of impacts, and you generally keep a stockpile of spare parts, many of which you need to carry with you every time you go driving.

It doesn't seem like crawlers take quite as much punishment; in the time I've owned mine I've seen very little damage. I twisted a driveshaft up and I can easily imagine tearing a sidewall or burning up a servo or cheap ESC, but everything else is holding together nicely so far. So as to not interrupt my driving, what sorts of spare parts should I pick up ahead of time? What actually breaks?
aramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-12-2018, 03:33 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: What's likely to break?

All you can do is research your particular model and see what people tend to break. Even then, there are no guarantees, as what you break largly depends on your driving style. So people will break the same part over and over, while others will never even break one of that part. When I got my maxtone 10 i read all over than the lockers and the axles strip and break, so I bought spares with the truck. Have never broken a single one.....
For crawlers in general, driveshafts are the most likley thing to go after servos. On a RTR the ESC will likley go at some point, especialy when you start hopping things up/adding weight.
dacaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 04:52 PM   #3
RCC Addict

Rod ends. Always rod ends. And plastic Axial transmission gears.
2mtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 04:53 PM   #4
Rock Stacker