Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Torquemaster Outdrive on AX10 Scorpion? I need your help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2019, 07:45 PM   #1

Default Torquemaster Outdrive on AX10 Scorpion? I need your help!

Hello!
I have a NOS Warthog chassis/Scorpion build that I am working on...and I am stuck. I need your expertise!

I want to upgrade to hard metal gears in the trans and axles...and run MIP driveshafts. I would like to use the Holmes Torquemaster Outdrive setup in the trans. The Torquemaster Outdrive uses the scx10/Wraith style of driveshaft connection...not the older Scorpion C drive with a grub screw like I have going on.

Is it possible to use the scx10/Wraith style outputs and pinions on the Scorpion? What parts do I need to make this happen? Can I use MIP driveshafts with the updated "pin" style (not the grub screw, C type)? If so, what MIP part number do I need?

i'm 46...and I am a noob with crawlers for the most part...so here I am. I would really, really be grateful for some pro help.

Thank you so much, in advance.

Brandon
DarkBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-2019, 11:13 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Torquemaster Outdrive on AX10 Scorpion? I need your help!

Steel gears into the Scorpion trans case should be no prob.

You can buy the MIP coupling with the newer style 5mm hole & screw pin connector. They'll be the same as the later HD ring/pinon axle gear sets also.
It looks like MIP have universally changed over to M4 screw pins (Traxxas) as opposed to the M3 (Axial)
Not at all a bad thing, the M4 has a bigger hex so allows you to torque tighter & less chance of stripping out hex or breaking smaller driver.

https://www.miponline.com/MIP-X-Duty...-x-5mm-1-18112
https://www.miponline.com/MIP-X-Duty...-x-5mm-1-18113
altd896 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 12:50 AM   #3