Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to Axialfest/ what rig to get or build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2019, 10:14 PM   #1

Default New to Axialfest/ what rig to get or build

Hey to all, so I am planing to go to Axialfest this year at Donner and this is my first time going. The problem I have is that I don't own any axial vehicles because I was starting to get rid of the hobby (had a wraith before). But now I am back in and bought a Redcat gen 8 for cheap. Of course Axialfest is a axial only event, I was wondering what to get or build that would be perfect for a new- timer. I was planing on getting a bomber for a while but now my head is spinning on choices. Any answers will help a lot.
Dawson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-07-2019, 10:56 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: New to Axialfest/ what rig to get or build

Best bang for the buck, imo is the Raw Builders Kit ($200) if you have spare electronics and rims and tires

If not, A deadbolt ($300) will be a solid performer out of the box.

I have a rtr Honcho I have been running since it's release without any upgrades or breakages. Some people complain about the 1 piece axles but I haven't had any issues to date. I do drive with a sense of Mechanical sympathy and tend to finesse rather than bash. However I also hand the Tx to anyone who wants to drive the Honcho (on 3s).

lonleycreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 09:00 AM   #3
Gold Star Baby!

IMO the Cherokee kit is the best 10.2 option, while not the most cost effective. I like the transmission more in the Cherokee kit as it sits lower. Comes with the good metal links and multipiece axle housings.