Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Build or Buy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2019, 11:51 AM   #1

Default Build or Buy

What's up everybody,

I've got a few questions that I'm sure ya'll can help me with. I'm in the market for some RC Crawlers. I have a few specific needs and desires and have been wondering whether there is a general consensus here on buying a complete kit vs building piecemeal?

1) What company(s) makes the best all around pre-built crawler with a two speed transmission, brushless motors, water resistant, and a relatively bare tube chassis?
2) How much extra weight can these things carry around, could you throw 10lbs on a 1/10th and expect it to perform relatively well?
3) If money was no option and you could build a crawler from the ground up what components would you use?

I'm relatively new to the world of RC and am hoping you guys can educate me a bit. I have a good amount of experience building and modifying similar things so difficulty level is not an issue so long as the benefit of building outweighs the ease of buying completes. I've been looking at both Tekin and Castle for motors and ESC's, are there any other brands to be keeping an eye on? Sorry for the scattered post, hoping you guys can help point me in a good starting direction, thanks.

Last edited by thenewone; 07-15-2019 at 12:45 PM.
thenewone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-2019, 12:43 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Build or Buy

1) A RTR like a scratch built, don't think so. 2) Weight to scale is cubed, so 10,000 lbs on your 1/10 rig won't be desireable performance wise. A tow/haul specific rig would be just that. As for money being no object, you got me there, thats a pipe dream wiating to happen. I'd have a bunch of cool, one-off machined trinkets to say the least. To get what you want, looks to me like you need to go piece meal.
MAC FAB is offline   Reply With Quote