Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Enthused but need help with setting up kit.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2019, 09:04 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Enthused but need help with setting up kit.

Hey fellow enthusiasts! I’ve been lurking on here for about a year and there is tons of great info thanks to all you! Keep on sharing!

I want a kit with plenty of parts support for the future. That narrows down things down fast...Trx4 sport or Axial SCX10II.

I have little experience putting a kit together when it comes to body and tires and what to look for and what’s compatible. I want a 12.3 crawler with a truck body I know that much. I found this Jcpncepts ‘82 GMC body and I love the TRX4 sport tires.

https://www.amainhobbies.com/jconcep...co0363/p977518

If I get the raw builders SCX10II kit, will that body with the TRX4 sport tires fit on it and be compatible with each other? Any other pointers or tips would be helpful as well. Thank you!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Buddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-17-2019, 01:16 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Enthused but need help with setting up kit.

The j concepts body is 12" wheel base. it will fit the raw builders kit but after you get links for 12" wheel base.

https://www.prolineracing.com/bodies...vo-3-3-mgt.asp
There is this proline chevy body not GMC, but same difference. It has a 12.2" wheel base lot closer to that 12.3" you are looking for. The other difference is the GMC is 8" wide and the chevy is 7" wide.

So how much tire tuck do you want or what sort of build were you looking to build?

Tires are tires, as long as they fit your build path and fit how you want then run them. Finding a wheel that fits the way you want is key.
hillbillyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 07:07 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

Oh thanks for pointing that out. Obviously not what I want than. I like this...