RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Newbie General (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/)
-   -   First crawler (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/611983-first-crawler.html)

Bennie98 09-26-2019 02:51 PM

First crawler

Hi

I'm new in the crawler part of rc.
Normally I'm more of a basher/racer kinda guy but never competition.
Recently I went to my first short course track and I liked that. So maybe I'll get into that more as well.
But I'm looking into crawling for something less breaky kind of rc.
There's a bmx parcours in the woods not far from my home which is fun to do with speed, but I'd like to do it slowly as well. Unfortunately I don't have that kind of vehicle. I'm also looking for something to run around in my backyard.
I used to have a t2m pirate pigmy which I used more for crawling than anything else. I even built a course and everything. If you want to, you can see it on youtube.

But now I want something a bit more purpose built for that. I really would like to have a MOA because I like the look and the versatility of the two motors and dual steering.
The problem is availability.
I live in Belgium and they only have a few MOA crawlers available. Here in the shop or through internet purchases.
First I was looking at the rc4wd bully 2. But 800 euros is a bit much or even more if I would buy the kit and accessories.
So I started looking at little crawlers.
The only real moa's are practically non existing.
I found the basher rocksta for around 86euros.
The rest are not moa's but look a bit like them:
Ecx temper gen 2 for 159euros.
Ecx barrage doomsday for 219,99euros.
G-made rock buggy kit for 299,99euros.
And the losi night crawler for 299,99euros.

Which one of these would be nice to have?
What are the downsides?
Is there a lot of tuning to be done to make them decent?
Should i try to put one together from parts?