Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: I'm getting the RC4WD 4Runner, is TF2 only/best?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2020, 04:18 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default I'm getting the RC4WD 4Runner, is TF2 only/best?

Saw the RC4WD 4Runner when it was a preorder and told myself I'd buy that if I ever sold my 1:1 4RN. Well... that time has come, so now I'm an RC Crawler noob shopping.

Update:
I've crawled the internets digging deeper into chassis to start with. Got to admit the SCA-1E Brat is looking really tasty right now. The chassis goes down to 285mm fitting well into the 4Runner wheelbase, and the Brat is a thing I've always admired but never could own.

I've also come back around to the SCX II and its 287mm wheelbase, likely depends on if i get a good deal.

Then there's the TF2, and GD it those Yota II axles are offset, have the bumps, and the leaf mounts. It truly is the best chassis for looks. I just know I'll break it though.

That said, thanks for looking. I think I hit that point where I'm gonna poke around some more and look into what people are running until I finally pull the trigger on something. See you around!

------ End Update ------
Here's what I'm prioritizing:
1a. Stock Approximation
1b. Maintainability
3. Value (Cost:Parts)
4. Performance
Appearances gets the bump over Maintainability due to the goal of recreating the rig I had and frankly the body kit covers 90% of that. Performance goals are pretty low as I'm not interested in competition, and I enjoy technical scale driving over speedy/extreme driving. Now I know the hardbody kit I'm getting is made for TF2, so here's my thoughts that I'd appreciate some people's thoughts.

TF2 Truck Kit - Has all the looks but always out of stock and $380
TRX-4 - Seems to have more community, better out of box value at $280
SCX10 - Common intro rig, accesible but more breakable $200
GEN8 - Newcomer, good Value $170 (sale ended today, fml)