Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie...Tell me about your electronics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2021, 08:03 AM   #1

Default Newbie...Tell me about your electronics.

Brand new to the crawler scene and pretty new to RC in general. I picked up a scx10 ii raw builders kit after catching the bug with a scx24. I figure it will be a relatively slow process as I work full time, go to school part time and have a 10 month old so build time will be limited. I figure this gives me time to acquire all the parts I WANT from the get go. With that said, what electronics would you go with that you don't think you would have to upgrade as soon as you got better and more immersed in the hobby? And what other tips might you have for a first time kit builder?
4est is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-2021, 08:26 AM   #2

Default Re: Newbie...Tell me about your electronics.

Also newbie here so I'm not going to pretend I know a lot of stuff, but I can tell you what I've learned in my process.

I think the first key thing is to know what you want to do with your vehicle. Competition? crawling for fun? Trails? And once this becomes clear, it starts to drive a few other decisions like:

Brushed or Brushless motors? I believe Brushed has the best low speed control and you it seems like you can get a cheaper set up with Brushed motor. But I've been told that if you can be spendy, the very nice brushless motors can be just as good at low speed as well.

Battery: 2s? 3s? 4s? How much voltage do you want? Voltage will drive motor speed. More seems better, but if you don't adjust your gears your car will get super fast. So if you want to crawl, you may need to get lower gear ratio's as your motor rpm starts go up in 3s/4s voltages.