Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Educate me on LiPo battery usage please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2021, 10:26 AM   #1

Default Educate me on LiPo battery usage please

Hey all,

Relative newbie here, I haven't owned a REAL RC since the 90's when I was a kid and it used NiCad batteries and I think maybe I had one with Nickel Metal Hydride also. Anyway, I know next to nothing about LiPo batteries in terms of how they are used with our sweet little crawlers.

I've got a new SCX24, which comes with I think a 350mah battery. I've read the manual, I know not to just leave it plugged into the charger indefinetly and all that. But, I guess I'd like sort of a practical users guide to owning a car with LiPo batteries.

I see stuff like boxes and bags to prevent fires and explosions from burning your house down and I'm like whoa....I need to know what I'm doing here. Unplug from car when done, or ok to leave it, charge from partially drained? Etc etc...just a basic overview of how to use and care for my battery without being overly ridiculous about it. At this point in time I'm not running expensive high end equipment, just having fun.

Thanks in advance!!!!
Skyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-24-2021, 10:39 AM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Educate me on LiPo battery usage please

Since LiPo is not the easist topic I think this is one of the best article explaining these batteries https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/

Gesendet von meinem SM-G955F mit Tapatalk
ToCrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 10:56 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToCrawl View Post
Since LiPo is not the easist topic I think this is one of the best article explaining these batteries https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/

Awesome, i will check it out...thanks!
Old 09-24-2021, 01:00 PM   #4