Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Question about adding weight to wheels

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2021, 01:01 PM   #1

Default Question about adding weight to wheels

I have a question that Id like to get expert opinions on about adding weight to wheels. Now Im a complete novice to crawlers as the only thing I own that even resembles a crawler is an SCX24 but Ive been in the RC hobby itself for somewhere around 12-14 years. Someone that I met recently tried to convince me that cutting your foams down to 3/4 of their original height and then sealing the wheels after filling the tires with water was the most amazing "mod" ever. We debated this quite heavily as I was convinced otherwise. My theory was sure it adds weight but it also would seemingly greatly reduce the tires ability to conform to what its trying to crawl over like it would normally with the air being able to escape the tire and allow the soft rubber compound to be much more pliable. Not to mention the water would ruin whats left of the foams after a period of time.

I tried to tell him that adding actual weights around the wheel itself would do the same thing and still leave the tire with the ability to function as intended. Its my understanding that this is a common practice for people to do to their crawlers and it makes sense to me. There were actually 4 of us that were trying to tell him he was mistaken but he said we were all idiots who dont know anything about crawlers. Well its true that I dont know to much about crawlers outside of what I read in forums and the other 3 guys have crawlers but arent experts so I figured Id come over here and see what seasoned veterans of crawling have to say about it.

Im completely open to the possibility that I might be completely wrong here and Im genuinely curious if theres something that I dont know preventing me from seeing the benefits in this persons "mod" Thoughts? Opinions?