Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: bang for my buck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2022, 09:25 AM   #1

Default bang for my buck

Hello all. I am trying to get into crawling, I have been bashing for quite a few years, but its not as interchangeable as I expected. I bought an associated cr12 about a year ago without doing my homework and I am not real happy with it. I can't find any upgrades, it is not great as a rtr crawler, and it allows for little modification. Any suggestions on a budget friendly yet capable crawler. I don't mind slowly building it up with upgrades but would like something that is at least decent out of the box. I am getting smoked by my buddies wraith and redcat 7! Thank you
4bsolute is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-22-2022, 10:50 AM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: bang for my buck

What is your starting budget? I like the Element options from associated (enduro / gatekeeper) and the TRX 4 sport kit. I own both the Sport and the gatekeeper kit version. Bang for the buck, I like the Phoenix from Vanquish but that starts at $500 and I am not sure if the second round preorders have closed. I still haven’t jumped on that one. The term bang for the buck can be relative. The first two options do have a lot of aftermarket support, lower entry price point and great upgrade ability. I still like my scx 10 ii, and I have a redcat gen 8. It is fine and certainly the best budget option but my personal preference is with the other rigs.
Boomer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2022, 11:42 AM   #3
RCC Addict

I would suggest (in no particular order):

Scx10.2 deadbolt rtr $320 at amain plus they are offering $50 off right now

Axial wraith 1.9 $329 no discounts.

Capra rtr $499 at amain plus $100 off

Element ecto rtr $399 at amain plus $30 off with the feb3022 code.

Trx4 sport rtr $369 at amain

Or if you are interested in building,