Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to RC crawling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2022, 10:31 AM   #1

Default New to RC crawling

Hello guys.
As the title here states I'm new to rc crawling, although I still own a training airplane that I only used for a bit cause I lost the remote.
I bought a TRX4 Traxxas defender, although I met some guys using Axial on the beach. I already started some mods on my defender, but I don't want to go on a buying frenzy without having the right info. I bought the exact same type of tires and rims thinking that I was getting a different kind, so they are sitting on my shed. I replaced both, front and rear axles with metal ones, since all the info I got so far indicates that the defender is top heavy and prone to tilt easy, which I found to be true by myself jeje. I also replaced the rear and front body posts to a more sturdy metal and carbon fiber, and got metal rock sliders. I really would like to know what type of tires and rim set should I get fo the best grip and looks. I have seen several videos stating that it is very important to get the right foam, not too hard or too soft. Also, how heavy should I get my rig? I just don't want to keep on adding without the right info.
Thanks for your help and I'm sorry if I asked too much on my first post. (:
perohijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-2022, 10:54 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: New to RC crawling

What you have is a nice looking rig and you are already familiar with it's capabilities. You have the right mindset of needing to add weight down low to make up for the top heavy body. Metal axle housings are good for durability and added weight in the correct spot but they also catch onto edges instead of being slick like plastic (I'd keep the metal on for the body weight sake).