Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: OK I have some dumb ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2007, 10:11 AM   #1

Default OK I have some dumb ?

Ok, I'm new to crawling. I've been around nitro MT's and things like that for 4 or five years now. but I'm a kid (14) and buyin fuel and all the support stuff for my nitros was getting pricey. So I decided that electric powered trucks are cheaper, cleaner, and better for me. (Me and nitro fumes didn't get along too well.)So now I'm asking what the cheapest and best way to get into crawling is? Is the new Axial AX10 Scorpion any good? I'm building a rock course to play around on.(Yes building, we don't have natural rocks all over the place around here in KS lol) Is a super chassie worth the money? I've been looking at the stick. But it looks like I have to buy seperate axles. That's not a horrible thing, but that takes money. Money's not horribly tight, because I've sold my nitros. But I don't want to go overboard. I have about $600 to spend. Oh and btw I have batteries and a good digital charger. Also, are dirt hawgs a good all around tire for crawling?

Thanks Bryan
New2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-25-2007, 10:17 AM   #2
2006 2.2 National Champ

If you are building your own course a 2.2 rig is the way to go. A super rig probably won't be challenged at all by your rock pile. The Scorpion is a great way to get into crawling for a reasonable price too.
BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 11:22 AM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Bender is right. As for Dirt Hawg tires, they'd get the job done but not nearly as good as Proline Moabs, Mashers, Losi Rock Clawz and Axial Rock Lizards. And the axles on the Axial Scorpion are included.

Happy Crawling!!:-P
goslo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 11:27 AM   #4