RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Newbie General (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/)
-   -   OK I have some dumb ? (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/82577-ok-i-have-some-dumb.html)

New2 08-25-2007 10:11 AM

OK I have some dumb ?

Ok, I'm new to crawling. I've been around nitro MT's and things like that for 4 or five years now. but I'm a kid (14) and buyin fuel and all the support stuff for my nitros was getting pricey. So I decided that electric powered trucks are cheaper, cleaner, and better for me. (Me and nitro fumes didn't get along too well.)So now I'm asking what the cheapest and best way to get into crawling is? Is the new Axial AX10 Scorpion any good? I'm building a rock course to play around on.(Yes building, we don't have natural rocks all over the place around here in KS lol) Is a super chassie worth the money? I've been looking at the stick. But it looks like I have to buy seperate axles. That's not a horrible thing, but that takes money. Money's not horribly tight, because I've sold my nitros. But I don't want to go overboard. I have about $600 to spend. Oh and btw I have batteries and a good digital charger. Also, are dirt hawgs a good all around tire for crawling?

Thanks Bryan

BENDER 08-25-2007 10:17 AM

If you are building your own course a 2.2 rig is the way to go. A super rig probably won't be challenged at all by your rock pile. The Scorpion is a great way to get into crawling for a reasonable price too.

goslo 08-25-2007 11:22 AM

Bender is right. As for Dirt Hawg tires, they'd get the job done but not nearly as good as Proline Moabs, Mashers, Losi Rock Clawz and Axial Rock Lizards. And the axles on the Axial Scorpion are included.

Happy Crawling!!:-P

turbored21 08-25-2007 11:27 AM

you know i never really thought about it.. but i bet with every other lug cut off a set of dirthawgs theyd be pretty good on a crawler...

now.. where did i put that spare set of tires :P