Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Non Crawler RC's

Notices

Thread: Drag Wagon build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2018, 10:10 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Drag Wagon build

I should start off by saying I have zero experience with RC drag cars, but with that being said I've always wanted to build one. I don't have any RC drag tracks near me so there is a good chance this one never sees much action besides up and down the street in front of my house.

It was difficult to even find info on the different drag chassis available, but in the end I settled on a Drag Race Concepts pro street chassis. I liked the layout and it looked like a quality product to start from. I opted for no wheelie bar, I'm trying to go for a more street car look than a full on drag car look.

Stock chassis:

Taking the front end apart.

After doing some research on RC drag cars you quickly learn that they have a very narrow track width and vary in wheelbase quite a bit. While there are a handful of bodies that fit these chassis's perfectly I've always wished they made a drag chassis that uses a standard 190/200mm touring car body, the touring car body market has a TON of options to make a cool drag car.
The rear axle is pretty easy to widen slightly. The front end is really what needs to be changed significantly to fit a 190mm body better.

My first mockup of what I want it to look like, I also want to ditch the front ball bearing wheels and run a 12mm hex so that I can also run any touring car wheel up front. I know that's not ideal for drag racing but I'm going for more of a street car look than an all out drag car. I settled on M-chassis wheels and tires which are slightly smaller than touring car wheels/tires. The body is made by Pandora RC.