Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: painting hilux body?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 07:36 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default painting hilux body?

hey guys, i'm just getting into scale building and was wondering what is the prefered paint for a hilux body? i've painted plenty of lexan bodies but never a hardbody. wasn't sure if the type of paint matters that much. i thought that a good plastic paint would be good. or do i need something better? i will have to be rattlecan, unfortunately. but need some advice. sorry if this has been asked before, i couldn't seem to find the answer i was looking for using the search button. please list type of paint and brand. thanks in advance.
cavie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-30-2009, 10:51 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Any acrylic auto paint will work fine with a hard body. I just scrub the body with a green Scotchbrite pad and dish soap, rinse, dry, then use auto primer and colour coat.
clockworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:11 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Any Tamiya TS- paint will work, or any model paint for that matter (Thats what I always use)

Sure you can use any type of aumotive paint and primer, Pretty much anything you want, then add clear over it (if wanted)

-Tom
The Loyale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:10 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

thanks guys, that's what i need to know.
cavie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:56 AM   #5
Rock Stacker

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Loyale View Post
Any Tamiya TS- paint will work, or any model paint for that matter (Thats what I always use) ....
does that mean, that i don't need primer if i use tamiya-ts paint? i just ordered several colors spray cans, but forgot to order primer.
izeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 10:46 AM   #6
Quarry Creeper

Just use auto paint.

Prime, bass coat and lacquer.