Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Using Regular Auto Touch up Paint

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2011, 02:01 PM   #1

Default Using Regular Auto Touch up Paint

Ive searched around but cant seem to find a thread covering my specific question, although im very new to all this so this might be a stupid question. I understand that the 65 cent Walmart spray paint wont work, but I have Automotive Touch up Paint in a spray can that I use for my 1:1 Jeep Cherokee. I want to get the RC Cherokee body and paint it to match my 1:1 but im not sure if this paint would work on the lexan or not.
Again this is not cheap Walmart paint this is paint that I got online with specifically matched paint code to match my 1:1 for touch up purposes. I paid about $35 for a can so I would imagine its pretty good paint but I was just wondering if anybody has tried anything like this on a lexan rc body

Thanks!
Gavinlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-13-2011, 03:15 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I doubt it. It doesn't have a flex additive, so it will fall of just like normal spray paint. That said, if you want it to match your 1:1, get in contact with the company that made you the touch up rattle cans and see if they can add a flex additive to it. I would think they could, because when you spray a automotive bumper you have to add a flex additive or the paint will crack and fall off of the flexible bumpers.
TurboShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:19 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

I used automotive touch up paint to paint up a jeep rubicon body like my dads... and eventually i wouldnt mind doing on like my 1:1 cherokee. I painted my crawler which is currently a mega cab with automotive touch up paint from autozone... it works fine for me, I added a clear coat over it then. can we see a pic of your 1:1 cherokee?????
CAPTAIN INSANE-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:38 PM   #4