Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: First Try at Reality Fire

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2012, 09:48 AM   #1

Default First Try at Reality Fire

Since I haven't had money to do any upgrades I decided I would give My Wraith a new paint job. I am an automotive painter but I have never tried my hand at reality fire. I think it turned out pretty good, but it's not perfect.

4xmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-14-2012, 10:47 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: First Try at Reality Fire

nice job!
sisterfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:48 AM   #3
Its a HARDKNOCKZ Life...

Looks damn good to me brutha.

Its funny...true fire was one of the easiest effects to learn with urethanes on a "normal" substrate but on a lexan surface without a lotta mechanical tooth & the process REVERSED...its actually pretty tough to get decent details, crisp lines & that warm, fuzzy glow that the candies usually provide.

Like I said man...Wraith looks good.

J.D.
HARDKNOCKZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 12:15 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Looks good for the first try, all it takes is time and practice painting true flames on lexan. You just have to remind yourself to let loose and let the paint flow and relax and not think about what it will look like at the end. I have learned that if you spray candy yellow(you can spray a little candy orange to darken iit up a bit) and then do the flames but be light with the white except where the hot spots are and then soak the back with candy orange, the orange will bleed into the white and give you that nice warm orange to yellow flame and back it with black it turns out great. Here are 2 bodies I did with true flames with the first body being the first flame job and the second being the latest one I did for CD13. The third body is what happens when you spray candy red to back the flames instead of orange, lol.
Attached Images