Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Order of paint?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 09:01 PM   #1

Default Order of paint?

Newbie here. I have an Axial Ridgecrest that with the initial upgrades has been fantastic so far, not sure if I'm a pure crawler yet, like the bashing thing and just playing around so far. Anyway, picked up the HPI Bronco body today and realize I don't exactly know how to paint!!! So, after a few hours on youtube I have a clue! But that's it. If I want to do the roll bar, grill, and bumpers in chrome, the flares, hood & back side in black, and then do yellow for the fenders-doors-qtr's etc, I think I want that white stripe with "powered by ford"...and I would like tinted windows...

Can anyone tell me the correct order of paint?

I'm thinking the chrome should be first, mask the yellow parts and the white stripe, hit the black parts next, remove the tape and hit the yellow, then remove the mask off the white stripe and hit everything with white as a final?

I know this doesn;t account for the windows, so if someone could tell me when/where in the process that they get masked?

Also, besides tape, knife, scissors I guess I will need
Black
Yellow
White
Chrome
and Tint Color
Paints??

I looked all over for a thread on this, and got a lot of info, just not enough detail for me!!

Thx,
hueyfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-2013, 10:07 AM   #2

Default Re: Order of paint?

You will want to do the black first because its the darkest so you don't have any bleed through. Then I would do the chrome then yellow then back everything in white. Have the windows masked from the start and after everything is painted you can unmask them and spray them with the tint. That's how I would do it anyway. Hope it helps
raptor775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:34 AM   #3
Proverbial threadkiller

Quote:
Originally Posted by hueyfisher View Post