Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Mounting Rubicon body. Front tire rubbing bumper when turned ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2013, 03:28 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Mounting Rubicon body. Front tire rubbing bumper when turned ...

First off this is my first build.

After spending a couple of days trimming all of the body parts out and fitting, and doing a really clean job, I messed up and drilled the body mount holes 2-3 mm off so the body now sits too far forward. If I had been paying attention I would have seen that those back clips should touch the back seats when locked in (mine are about 2-3 mm away)

With only about half shock compression and a slight turn my tire hits the vertical portion of the bumper and pushes the body in. Why I didn't test this in the first place is beyond me.

Now it doesn't look like pushing the body back 2-3 mm will solve the problem completely. Is this tire rub a known problem that people just live with ? There are three solutions I can see. Push the body back even farther. Redrill the mounting posts at the back so the clips go in sideways so I can push the body back even further. Lift the body. I don't really want to do this since I don't like the look. Currently theres a 2mm gap between the body and the top of the transmission. The last thing I have thought about doing is cutting off the fenders.

Since I lack in experience I want to ask the pros what they are doing. I've got a new body coming in since redrilling the mounting holes is going to make it look pretty nasty.

THanks for the input.
flarezfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-11-2013, 03:56 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Mounting Rubicon body. Front tire rubbing bumper when turned ...

Well did you position the bumper so that it looked right with your body mistake or did you go off the directions and mount the bumper in the right hole on the bumper mount?