Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: How would you apply these colors?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2014, 10:23 AM   #1

Default How would you apply these colors?

Just picked up a Proline Cherokee body for my current project. Its my first time painting a body and read that you should apply the darkest colors first. However, the 2 colors I'll be using are pearl white and silver. I'll be painting the fender trim/bumpers/lower body panels silver witht he rest of the jeep being painterd the pearl white. Does it matter which color goes down first?
warpig602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-06-2014, 06:42 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: How would you apply these colors?

You have to mask off the area that you don't want a certain color to be in for the first coat. For example, if you decided to lay down the silver first, which would be a good idea since the white would go over it in the second coat and help the color to 'pop', You need to mask off any area that you don't want the silver to show on.
BigSki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 08:43 PM   #3
RCC Addict

You will need to buy a can of solid white to back the pearl white also. The pearl is not I solid color I believe.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 09:17 PM   #4

Thanks for the replies, I had figured on the masking part but was unsure which should be applied first, silver it is. I also have a spare can of Pactra white I could use after the other 2.

Last question, any idea on how to simulate tinted windows?
Old 02-07-2014, 12:12 AM   #5
Fifth dimension

Quick heads up. In my experience, pearl white and silver ( in my fascolor world) look too similar. I'd highly recommend backing your silver in black and pearl in white. If you need an example, pm me and I can show you a 66 ford I did with a pearl top half with some silver accents and you'll see what I mean bud. Good luck!!