Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: RC4WD D90 Detail Painting Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2016, 10:16 AM   #1

Default RC4WD D90 Detail Painting Help

So I'm currently building an RC4WD Gelande II D90 and I've gotten to where I need to paint the interior and I want it to look nice and not just be one solid color. I'm very very new to painting and I have never detail painted before. Can anyone give me some tips on how to paint things like the seats, dash, gear sticks etc... Obviously I will need to do it with a brush so can someone give me some info on types/brands of paint, paint brushes and painting methods/techniques? Thanks!
Hypergarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-2016, 02:43 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: RC4WD D90 Detail Painting Help

I actually have one of those interiors that I am getting ready to paint too. My process generally follows the layer painting sequence like one would use for model miniatures (tabletop war gaming is my other hobby).

Since it is always easier to darken an area rather than lighten it up, I would start by priming the whole thing with a gray spray, like this. Follow up by painting the larger areas, like the seats, dashboard, and floor whatever color you choose for each. At this point, depending on how detailed you want the interior, you could just stop here, maybe with a few minor details added. However, I personally would add some shadowing to the creases of the seats and a good load of detail to the dashboard, because the dash layout usually changes a great deal depending on the type of build. I am doing a military build, so I will be adding a radio and possibly a little GPS to my dashboard.