Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Painting a body with automotive paint

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2018, 07:02 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Painting a body with automotive paint

I'm not sure how this will turn out, but it's an experiment. I am a mechanic at a mostly collision based shop that works with bodyshops to fix accidents etc. Well I just got my tt02 kit in today. I got it shipped to my work since that's where I am during the day. Well I got talking with my co workers and we thought it would be funny to paint an rc body in the paint booth with automotive paint. It might chip and flake off. I'm not sure. But screw it. Let's see what happens. So we took ford ruby red and added a few colours of green and blue pearl and sprayed it on in 2 coats . Then we hit it with 2 coats of clear. In the pics I noticed the window maskings lifted a bit from the spray gun. Crap. But I won't know the damage until tomorrow. I was going to use tamiya smoke on the Windows but if some red leaked in I'll have to paint the Windows black from the outside or sand it with a 320 grit or something. It is this color

Then after some pearl and clear it looks like this

Even I won't know the final outcome until tomorrow. It should be interesting

Last edited by Neil2704; 01-11-2018 at 07:05 PM.
Neil2704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-2018, 08:02 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Painting a body with automotive paint

It will come out ok, you shoulda trimmed the wheel wells before paint, if you use it it will flake on impact. But will look good, you don't really need clear cause the lexan will be the clear.

It will work work better on a hardbody for future reference
aztitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 08:25 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Yeah I didn't think the clear would do much but the body guy had it in the gun already so I just went with it.
Old 01-11-2018, 08:47 PM   #4