Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: TRX-4 Defender Modification Suggestions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2019, 07:40 PM   #1

Default TRX-4 Defender Modification Suggestions

Good Evening Everyone, First time poster - short time lurker. I love checking out everyone's RC mods!

Now to the point of my post:

I'm quite new to the RC world and I've recently picked up a TRX-4 Defender. As much as I would love to just start dropping money on upgrades, my wife would not, so I'm looking to made some body modifications.

I'm quite interested in cutting off the rear end of the Defender body to create a bed as a couple of people here have done.

Now my problem is I'm not 100% sure how to go about cutting that bad boy out. I know for certain that my Dremel isn't the way to go. I also do not have access to a band saw.

I've read about the string trick but I'm confident I cant cut a straight line so my question is this:

1. Can I use an hobby knife to create a score line and then continue to gently run the blade over that same line until I get through the body? I can imagine it would be time consuming but if it'll work and I'll get clean results - time isn't really an issue.

2. Would it be a better idea to create the score line with the hobby knife and then go at it with the string; using the score line as a guide?

Or are both these ideas trash?

Any input/suggestions you folks may have is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
CodeEzra_RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-30-2019, 04:11 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: TRX-4 Defender Modification Suggestions