Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Paint "curing" time?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2007, 01:14 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Paint "curing" time?

i painted my ax10 body with tamiya polycarb spray in an approx 85F enviroment with 5 thin coats. how long would you guys reccommend i wait until i put the decals on. i dont know if it really matters, but this is my first time and i would rather learn from your experiences than F**k up my paint job and decals.

I did search. couldnt find much

thanx a lot
mtnyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-24-2007, 02:39 PM   #2
ftr
Pebble Pounder

Well since the paint goes on the inside and the decals go on the outside it really doesnt matter. But if you painted the outside it should be fine to apply them after an hour or so.
ftr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:04 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

if the paint goes on the inside, then how the F**k are you supposed to get a flat finish?
Old 12-24-2007, 10:27 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

Location: Ramstein Air Base Germany ...ya Ive been Ramshafted

Put it in the oven for 30 min at 350. 30 min later it will be flat He he J/K man Geez Im not even sure you can get the paint to look flat when painting the inside of a lexan body.
CCFBERG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:37 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper

Well you could use flat finish paint. J/K dewd....

I would wait a full 24hrs in 70*+ temps before applying decals. No real solid theory on that, but that's what I would do. i guess the question is.....why paint it on the outside? I understand the look you're going for, but the first OOPS, and it's gettin' trashed.
Hotrodvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 11:56 PM   #6
I joined the Band!