Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Motor options: Whats the best bang for the $?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2008, 04:05 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Motor options: Whats the best bang for the $?

Just picked up a Goliath MMT a few weeks ago.

Seriously considering the Novak GOAT as a brushless set up but price tag prevents from from taking the plunge.

What other BL motors are worth looking into? Already ordered the new CC Sidewinder micro ESC and should be on its way.

Also looking into a brushed set up but there are many choices. How many turns should I limit myself at? Not looking to invest into a reduction tranny just yet as this is my first attempt at crawling and wish to keep things realistic (for the time being).

Whats the preferred ESC of choice?

Thanks in advance.
ASSASSINO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-2008, 07:53 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Look at holmes hobbies for a brushless motor, they make good stuff. However, brushed is preferable to my taste, and for that I like my mamba max. The sidewinder 1/10 performs almost identically, I would have bought one but they weren't available when I bought my MM. Another (brushed only) option is the tekin FX-R, which has been getting rave reviews around here, and it's very small, which is good, though I can't personally vouch for it as I've never run one. As far as brushed motors go, you'll want a slower, torquey motor for the Goliath without a GRU, I'd advise looking into a handwound lathe, say 65t or so. The difference between the handwound and the machine wound is pretty big. If you decide to run a Castle ESC, I'd strongly advise a BEC, especially with a SW micro, as they don't have enough power in their internal BEC's.
chrisjlittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 08:07 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Thanks for taking the time to reply Chris. Really appreciate the guidance.