Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: PTI no more???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2009, 08:04 PM   #1
rik
RCC Addict

Question PTI no more???

Hello all, first let me say that this is my first time posting in a forum. So if this is posted wrong or whatever, I apologize. I have two questions. #1. Is PTI out of business? I ordered a spur gear 2 months ago for my GRC12 and still have yet to receive it! I have tried to call the # listed on ptiracing .net, but to no avail. I have also sent them numerous email's but still have not received even one reply. #2 Is there an alternate spur gear i can use in this rig? I am a CNC machinist so modifying another spur gear is no problem at all. Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Crawl on ppl!
rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
K_B
I wanna be Dave

There is nothing special about the spur. It's just a basic 48p gear. Many others will fit. I believe the stock one is actually a Kimbrough brand spur:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...B%3E+gears+48p

But others work as well. I've used Robinson "stealth" spur gears before:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=robinson+spur

The trick is to make sure it has the holes for the outdrives to key into, make sure the tooth-count is correct and make sure it's 48 pitch.

As for PTI still being in business, I have no idea.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 05:46 PM   #3
rik
RCC Addict

K_B, Thanks for the reply! Much Appreciated. I believe you are correct about the Kimbrough being the stock one. Looks like it to me. Did you have to modify the Robinson "stealth" spur or was it just a "bolt and go" deal? thanks again
Old 10-21-2009, 11:00 AM   #4
Rock Stacker