Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Moab's and GRC

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2007, 11:32 AM   #1

Question Moab's and GRC

Hello RockHeads,

Well after some broken linkage (ends actually) and tweaks to make GRC a little stronger after the 12.5" upgrade kit, I am out hittin the rocks. I am pretty new to all of this so do not have much to compare my GRC too, but it seems to handle quite a bit. I tip over more than I would like and the gear ratio is a little high even with the Integy 55 turn motor in there. Looking forward to spending another 70 bucks for that new gearbox from PTI (this week??).

OK, on with the question. I used the Redrocks and they were not the greatest performing crawlers but did give GRC a bit of ground clearance. Now I am using Moab's on Axial rimms and they grab much better (not a much as I thought they would but better). However I have lost all that ground clearance which hangs me up much more and easier than with the RedRocks. Are these for certain rocks or something because the fun factor dropped considerably with this "upgrade"

Has anyone had this problem or have any suggestions on how I can fix this problem?

Many thanks in advance,

Mike
easyrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-27-2007, 12:25 PM   #2
K_B
I wanna be Dave

This should help:

axle clearance

But really, if you enjoyed it more with the Red Rocks, use the Red Rocks then. Just because everyone and their mother runs Moabs doesn't necessarily mean you have to too. Although there is usually good reason why a particular tire is popular, the terrain will dictate what works best.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 09:08 PM   #3

Wink

Many thanks (again). Sounds like I have a bit more tweaking to do.

Now it seems my dogbones are slowly (but quickly) being sawed off LOL need to shim them up or something. Any idea how to do this properly?