Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > RC4WD Bully

Notices

Thread: Dan's Bully2

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2018, 10:15 AM   #1

Default Dan's Bully2

Hi everyone,

I wanted to share some of my recent experiences with the RC4WD Bully2 RTR model.
Just wanted to clarify that I'm by no means a comp driver (no such comps where I live ), therefore it was all meant for having plain RC crawling fun.

I'm somewhat new to the RC world, just have a scale MST CFX which I upgraded and it is overall fun to drive, but I learned quickly that I'm far more interested in crawling the big rocks!
Obviously for such task, I needed a comp crawler like the Bully2, which AFAIK, is probably the only RTR option in the market.
I chose to go with RTR because I didn't have any spare electronics available for the Kit version, and frankly what you get in the RTR is totally worth it IMHO (I mean the $100 delta). Particularly the dig unit, haven't seen them on sale nowadays (let me know if you have). Also bought the knuckle weights, had to, they fit like a glove.

At first, I tried the fully stock version, it definitely didn't disappoint (especially after being used to climbing with a scale model...), the capabilities of a MOA are truly amazing.
However, the Bully2 can give so much more if properly upgraded. I did my homework before buying this model, but being quite tight on budget left me with little options. So I decided to efficiently increase performance by changing the stock servo with a PowerHD 23kg/cm (which I got for a really low price) and the stock ESC with the Hobbywing 1080 (which I honestly think is the best value money can buy). Additionally, I changed the stock shocks with Gmade XD Aeration 93mm that I had (with the softest springs) - this made a really big difference btw.
Needless to say that I performed some tuning like:
- Clocked C hubs by one slot (seemed to be enough)