Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > RC4WD Trail Finder 2
Loading

Notices

Thread: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2016, 08:44 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NoVa
Posts: 116
Default Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Hey guys, sorry to flood the forum with questions but I just got my TF2 today and am really excited!

As I am started a few quick mods, I was wondering how I could cut the body posts down to fit the truck bed?

Thanks everyone! Looking forward to posting picks once it gets out of its "stock" look!
Ghost Koi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-2016, 08:58 PM   #2
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: middle TN
Posts: 612
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

I think most remove the body post in the bed. When I bobbed the bed on my tf2, I removed the section of bed with the holes in it.
littletoyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 09:01 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NoVa
Posts: 116
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Seems reasonable, especially with the 4 screws already holding the bed in place. Thanks!

Anyone else have any experiences...?
Ghost Koi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 10:08 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: western ny
Posts: 377
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

I used a pair of nail trimmers for my dog . Made a nice clean cut and shorten the posts neatly
sb4pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 11:47 PM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mt. Juliet, TN
Posts: 1,031
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Get rid of them altogether, there not needed.
SteveC6R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 10:20 AM   #6
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chilliwack
Posts: 273
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Question, does the kit body come with hole pre drilled in the box?
Smonkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 10:24 AM   #7
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: aloha state
Posts: 546
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smonkman View Post
Question, does the kit body come with hole pre drilled in the box?
Yes its already been cut or drilled
HARDRIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 10:12 PM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Natedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corruptifornia
Posts: 12,107
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by littletoyboy View Post
I think most remove the body post in the bed. When I bobbed the bed on my tf2, I removed the section of bed with the holes in it.
Looks cleaner, but how do you secure the rear of the bed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sb4pro View Post
I used a pair of nail trimmers for my dog . Made a nice clean cut and shorten the posts neatly
Great idea!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveC6R View Post
Get rid of them altogether, there not needed.
And then how do you support/attach the rear of the bed? The styrene/ABS plastic around the four little screw holes in the bottom edge of the cab is not very strong imo.
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 11:00 PM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: alberta
Posts: 445
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

I agree with Natedog you roll that sucker and your putting alot of torsion on those four lower cab bolts
scalemadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 09:56 AM   #10
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: middle TN
Posts: 612
Default Re: Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2?

I will let you know if it ever becomes an issue on mine
littletoyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
trail finder 2



Cut down the body posts on a stock TF2? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Body lift posts? Custom Porsche body questions. Ahod39 Axial Yeti 2 11-11-2015 08:49 AM
body posts for stock AX10 rroberto1 Axial AX-10 Scorpion 5 01-14-2008 04:30 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com