Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > RC4WD Trail Finder 2

Notices

Thread: 80Yota's Build Thread: 1980 Yota

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2019, 10:11 AM   #1

Default 80Yota's Build Thread: 1980 Yota

Hi All,

So starts the slowest build thread you may ever witness. This is not because I am slow (although I am not the fastest) but because I plan to build this truck from the ground up with the parts I want the first time.....and of course I am still learning as this is my first RC build. Feedback/comments are most welcome.

Here is my old 1:1 that I will be basing the build on:

So where to start.....well I decided to start from the ground up!

Just placed the first order with RC4WD who will probably be getting a majority of my business for scale-ness. Here is whats on the way:

Z-A0080 Yota II Ultimate Scale Cast Axle (Front)

Z-A0081 Yota II Ultimate Scale Cast Axle (Rear)

Z-T0053 Rock Crusher X/T 1.55" Scale Tires

Z-S0737 Stamped 1.55" and 1.7" Beadlock Wheel Hex Hubs

Z-S0529 1.5 & 1.7 Steel Wheel Hex Hub with Brake Rotor

Z-W0281 Deep Dish Wagon 1.55" Stamped Steel Beadlock Wheels (Black)

I felt these axles had the best scale looks and function. I will be upgrading to helical gears and XVDs next month.

The tires are not the ones I wanted but I think they give me the scale look I am going for. I had BFG Mud Terrains on my 1:1 but I could only find those in a 1.9" wheel and 4.2" tall both of which are bigger than scale so.....

The wheels are interesting. I wanted 1.55 wagon deep dish 6 lug. Couldn't find any wheels that checked all those boxes but did find these wheels but in 5 lug. So I got 6 lug brake rotors and wheel hex hubs to try my hand at drilling a 6 lug pattern on the 5 lug wheels. The things I will do for scale-ness lol......

So thats all I could afford for this month. Will put up links to pics once the parts come in and I start putting them together. Tune in next month for the next phase of the build