Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > RC4WD Trail Finder 2

Notices

Thread: 1SLWMoFo's Marlin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2018, 11:14 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default 1SLWMoFo's Marlin

Hello guys! I'm very new to the rc crawler scene, but have very good background on 1/10 stadium gas truck racing. I've always been very captivated by the scale aspect of the crawlers and always wanted to get one, but could not do it up until now. Just got the RC4WD Marlin and I'm really having tons of fun with it. Been reading up a lot on these TF2 and the common mods done to them, specifically on the leaf spring suspension. I can honestly say that RCCrawler is definitely the place to go for everything crawler. Thank you guys for providing everyone with so much know-how and inspiration.

I'll leave you with some pics of my Marlin, and the first few mods I've done to it so far...

Front...
Installed Revolver and Z-boxes shackles
Removed smallest helper leaf only, filled shocks with 60wt, and using internal springs. Suspension is a bit stiffer than the rear but give the rig a stable feel while still flexing almost the full travel of the shocks.

Rear...
Removed both helpers, filled shocks with 60wt, and also using internal springs.
Flex is really good with full shock travel. Leaf spring tends to warp due to axle wrap and large amounts of front/back wobble on the whole rear drivetrain is noticeable, which relates to the axle wrap. I dealt with this by making a set of traction bars.

Fabbed some traction bars for the rear using 1"x1" square tubing for the axle hangers, some straight and angled rod ends, and a set of Associated short titanium turnbuckles. Used the cross member under the receiver box as the mounting point. Virtually eliminated all axle wrap (very minimal still left, but not affecting anything at the moment).